Navigation Bar

GTAP Events: 2019 GTAP Advisory Board Meeting

General Information
Date: June 17-18, 2019

Location: The Old Library, University of Warsaw, Central Campus
Krakowskie Przedmiescie 26/28, 00-927 Warsaw, Poland

Deliverables: PDF file Agenda (presentations linked)

PDF file Report and Issues Document

Webpage Supplementary Material

PDF file 2019 Summary
Research Fellows
The Board approved to name the following as Research Fellows for 2019-2022:

Eddy Bekkers
For significant contributions in trade modeling: firm heterogeneity, gravity modelling, traded goods prices, food price pass through, foreign affiliate sales and trade in services, and for being instrumental in developing the WTO’s trade model, converting the standard GTAP model into a recursive dynamic model with additional features such as increasing returns to scale and Melitz-like features.

Wolfgang Britz
For significant advances in promoting the GTAP framework through the development of satellite data, especially in agriculture, and for the development of the CGEBox modeling software, which provides a flexible, extendable and modular code basis for CGE modeling in GAMS drawing on the GTAP Data Base, combined with a powerful user interface based on GGIG (GAMS Graphical User Interface Generator).

Everett Peterson
For outstanding contributions to GTAP theory and data bases through developing the first margins-inclusive version of the GTAP model -- along with a prototype data base, for pioneering a new approach to disaggregating agricultural activity using FAO data, and for recent work on developing a version of GTAP with frictional unemployment.

Anna Strutt
For being an extremely highly valued instructor on multiple GTAP Courses (standard and dynamic short courses and GTAP PTA), for her extensive analyses of trade agreements using the GTAP Data Base and model, estimation and modeling of non-tariff measures (NTM), as well as being a frequent attendee, presenter, reviewer, chair, and mentor/advisor at the annual conference.
Alan A. Powell Award
Each year at the GTAP Advisory Board meeting we present an award to one of the members of the Board in recognition of outstanding service. This award is in honor of one of the Founding Members of the Advisory Board, and the intellectual grandfather of GTAP - Alan A. Powell.

Maryla Maliszewska The 2019 recipient of the Alan A. Powell Award is Maryla Maliszewska, Senior Economist at The World Bank.

Thank you, Maryla, for your important contributions to GTAP!
View All Photos Photos
Event PhotoEvent PhotoEvent PhotoEvent PhotoEvent Photo

Facebook LinkedIn Tweet YouTube

Center for Global Trade Analysis
Department of Agricultural Economics
Purdue University
403 Mitch Daniels Blvd.
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2056 USA

© 2024, Purdue University. All rights reserved.
Purdue University is an equal access/equal opportunity university.
If you have trouble accessing this page due to disability, please contact